WJMC Day 2

If there is one thing I have learned today it is the importance of portable chargers. I also learned about staying true to yourself as a journalist and how journalism has changed throughout history, but portable chargers really takes the cake. 

Today we started with Hoda’s presentation. She described her experiences and progress as a journalist through a series of ridiculously funny anecdotes. Despite not being able to see Hoda for very long, it was an awesome experience to see such a prominent journalist go through the same struggles every journalist faces. 

Then I sat on the burning hot concrete to eat my lunch and I gotta say I think it was my favorite part of the day. My scorched legs hobbled to the bus and we were off to Newseum.

I’ve been to D.C. multiple times but had never been to Newseum, so I was super excited. It was probably one of my favorite museums I’ve been too. Everything was really powerful and I liked seeing how journalism was reflected through different eras.

Another thing I liked about the Newseum was seeing how journalism reacts to times of distress and the Newseum really reflected that through exhibits like the Vietnam War and 9/11.

Dinner was pretty uneventful, except for the extreme heat (shoutout to the people handing out water, you are my heroes). 

After dinner, we did a midnight tour of all the monuments on the National Mall. Even though I’ve seen most of them before, it’s always awesome to go back. It was even more beautiful to experience at sunset. 

I’m on the way back to GMU at the moment and I’m hoping it’s a fairly early night (a.k.a 11:30). 

So while this blog post was pretty short, y’all are getting two tonight! Yes, so exciting.

Until next time!

Gabby

Leave a Reply

